Have you experienced:
If you are using MicroStation or other Bentley Systems products, you have likely experienced one or more of these problems. If you hadn't saved your data in the last 30 minutes, now the headaches begin
Design file data loss means costly project restarts. Why not consider a file back-up utility which will minimise or virtually eliminate this problem?
Australian Data Systems, has created an unobtrusive solution to data loss.
BackIt is an MDL application which operates in the background of MicroStation design sessions, quietly saving your precious data in a series of back up files. You can define a directory for storing these files, and set BackIt to save them at the time interval you prefer. BackIt will save up to nine copies of your work, without overwriting the initial back up file. Talk about an insurance policy...
Browse to select a specific backup directory path, or leave it blank. (A blank directory path will force the backup copies to be saved in the same location as the design file). Choose the time between backup copies, from 1 minute to 5 hours. Specify the file cycle, ie the number of copies of each file to keep before overwriting: any number between 1 and 9. These backup copies have a file extension of .bk1, .bk2, etc to .bk9.
Apart from the file cycle backups, BackIt creates the following extra copies:
If these automatic backups are not enough, force a manual backup by hitting the Backup button at any time!
By default, BackIt does its work silently, but you can set the Warn option that will result in a warning beep each time that a backup copy is made.
Tick the Panic box when you suspect something is wrong with the design file. BackIt will suspend any further backup operations to ensure that good copies of the file are not overwritten and lost. Use the File History button to review a detailed list of backup copies, including file sizes and backup times. Previous copies can be opened and viewed from the File History dialog and, if necessary, you can revert to a good copy of the design file. Normal operation will resume when panic mode is disabled.
All copies of your file are kept until you remove them by hitting the Clear Old button, or when you delete them manually outside the BackIt environment.
No backups are made if a design file is opened in read-only mode. Apart from being an unnecessary overhead, it will avoid the accidental destruction of a good copy of the file by overwriting it with a corrupt version.
Follow these links for: Product Overview Feature Summary Evaluation Software Upgrade Software